Scripps Ranch Homeowners Association & Scripps Ranch Civic Association

Scripps Ranch Homeowners Association

July 1970

  • A letter from Mike LoCelso goes out to Scripps Ranch homeowners announcing the intention of forming a Scripps Ranch Homeowners Association to protect collective interests in the community’s well being, for growth and prosperity.

October 8, 1970

  • The first officers of the Scripps Ranch Homeowners Association are elected at a meeting of the Block Chairmen: Mike LoCelso, President; Ted Wrobel, Vice-President; Bill Connell, Secretary, Renee Weddell, Treasurer; and Jerv Monroe, Director.First standing committees established in response to a survey conducted among homeowners: Relations with Developer; Relations With City, County, State; Relations with Miramar Naval Air Station; Park Committee; Schools; Home protection, fire, vandalism, pets; Shopping Center; Utilities; and Radio Interference.

October 26, 1970

  • The first newsletter of the Scripps-Miramar Homeowners Association is distributed.

March 1971

  • The first “Official Newsletter of the Scripps Ranch Homeowners Association” is published.
Front page of one of the first Scripps Ranch Homeowners Association newsletters
The front page of one of the first Scripps Ranch Homeowners Association newsletters, 1971.

October 1971

  • Bill Hartford, President of the Scripps Ranch Homeowners Association, explains the proper role of the Board of Directors and the officers of the Homeowners Association in the October newsletter.It is his intent to fulfill the fundamental purpose stated by Mike LoCelso in his initial letter regarding the establishment of the Homeowners’ Association, which is “to keep everyone informed as to what is happening.”

    The Board of Directors is not nor was it intended to be, an “action” group.


May 1972

  • The City of San Diego proclaims May 8th through 14th as Town Council Week and recognizes “the diligent efforts being made by the Scripps Ranch Homeowners Association to improve its community and further urge more San Diegans to become involved in town council activities in their neighborhood.”
Scripps Ranch recognized for improving its community, 1972
SRHA recognized for improving the Scripps Ranch community, 1972.

July 6, 1972

  • The City Council, in part based on objections raised by the SRHA, sends back for redesign a plan that would have widened Pomerado Road to four side-by-side lanes without regard for tree location. Work on the redesign is suspended until approximately 1977 when the State Highway Department is expected to widen the bridge over I-15 to four lanes.

November 1972

  • Scripps Ranch Homeowners Association has 235 member families out of over 500 families eligible for membership. The annual dues rate is reduced to $1 which is used almost exclusively for publication costs.

Scripps Ranch Civic Association

January 22, 1973

  • The Scripps-Miramar Homeowners Association changes its name to the Scripps Ranch Civic Association.

February 19, 1973

  • SRCA Board of Directors votes to divide Scripps Ranch into 12 community districts, an expansion from the current seven districts, in light of the rapid growth of the community and the desire to properly represent the various areas of the community.

July 1973

  • The SRCA adopts a new logo, which incorporates the distinctive old-fashioned street light and eucalyptus tree. The logo was drawn by Anne Acevedo based on a sketch by Bill Anderson.

SRCA new logo with a eucalyptus tree and street light

August 1973

  • The SRCA has about 220 member families out of a possible approximately 850 families.

February 1974

  • The SRCA board decides to start work towards creating a Community Planning Group that will include representatives from homeowners, landowners, businesses, and USIU, and will have the goal of establishing development plans for the community.The City government recognizes and will consider the recommendation of community planning groups and the SRCA does not have the same status of recognition that a community planning group carries.

March 1977

  • SRCA dues are $3 per year.

September 1981

  • Membership dues for the SRCA increase from $3 to $5 per family. 

May 1982

  • The SRCA elects Bob Dingeman as President for the first time. He follows Lew Robertson in the position.

December 14, 1982

  • At the first annual SRCA Recognition Night, the SRCA honors the following individuals as Scripps Ranch Good Citizens of the Year: Mibs Somerville, Mary Kelley, Ray Bassett, Karen McElliott, and Charlie Beman.

December 13, 1983

  • SRCA names the following people as Scripps Ranch Citizens of the Year: Charles and Elinor Stenzel, Mary Ann Martini, Lew Robertson, Rick Davis, Joan Gass, and Robert E. Dingeman.

December 11, 1984 

  • SRCA names Carol Gardyne, Bob Dingeman, Horst Ludwig, and Betty Robertson Citizens of the Year.

December 1985

  • The SRCA names Robert E. Dingeman, Lauren Frederick, John Royer and Ron Weiss Citizens of the Year.

December 11, 1986

  • The SRCA hosts the annual Scripps Ranch Recognition Night at Jerabek School and names the following as Scripps Ranch Citizens of the Year: Jean McPhee, Susan Roberts, and Elinor Stenzel.

August 1987

  • SRCA annual dues rise to $10 per year.

December 15, 1987

  • A joint meeting of the SRCA and the Scripps Ranch Planning Group recognizes hardworking individuals. Karen Kissane, Bob Johnson, and Aileen Heimlich are named Scripps Ranch Citizens of the Year.
  • SRCA names Robert E. Dingeman President Emeritus.

February 1988

  • Circulation of SRCA Newsletter has increased to 4,800 residences.

December 13, 1988

  • Chuck Adkison is selected as Scripps Ranch Citizen of the Year.

July 1989

  • This is the first year that the SRCA co-sponsors the Mira Mesa Fourth of July Fireworks show.

  • The SRCA Newsletter editor expresses concern regarding the operation of the SRCA newsletter at a financial loss in the future and the need to consider options to make the newsletter an independently economically viable operation.

October 1989

  • Confusion and controversy erupt at the SRCA-sponsored City Council Candidates Forum. One candidate, Linda Bernhardt, had failed to confirm availability after multiple attempts to contact her. As other candidates had confirmed availability for the event, the Candidates Forum was scheduled and publicized. Two days prior to the event, Bernhardt’s campaign officer contacted the organizers to state she had other commitments.

    Bernhardt shows up late to the event, announces to the audience that the forum is a “charade” and refuses to participate. The Forum proceeds with the other candidates present speaking and many in the audience of 200 are upset by the activities at the Forum. Bernhardt is elected to the City Council the following month.

  • Kathy Allman, the Advertising Manager for the SRCA Newsletter during the difficult transition into a self-sustaining operation, and Connie Reins, the Secretary of Jerabek School since its inception, are awarded the 1989 Scripps Ranch Women of Achievement Award. Prior winners included Elberta “Bert” Fleming, Jane Merrill Paula Oquita, Lauren Frederick, Becky McDonald, Jean La Duca, Christie Clark, Karen Assall, Barbara Nyegaard, Fini Wright, and Jackie Corey

December 14, 1989

  • SRCA names Robert E. Dingeman Citizen of the Year.